Ready Player One

About a month ago I picked up Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, I didn’t really know what to expect. I forgot about it for a few weeks, and before I was leaving to head to Philly for the weekend, I saw it on the table and threw it into my carry on. I was going to meet my girlfriends sister, brother in law, and nephew, for his fourth birthday. When we travel I usually read, and she’ll either sleep or fill out sudoku puzzles the whole trip. I put my headphones on in Tampa, opened the book, and didn’t even look up until we were landing in Philly. I read it every night before sleep, and the whole flight back. I finished it a few days ago.

This book is so damn good. I’m a huge fan of role playing games like Dark Souls, Demon Souls, Bloodborne, Skyrim, and the Diablo‘s.

maxresdefault
here

On one of the covers it describes this book to be the adults version of Harry Potter, I do agree, but when I was reading this book I felt as if I were playing one of the games that I love so much. I couldn’t put it down when I was in Philly, until I realized I was being borderline rude.

The story follows a teenager named Wade Watts, who lives in a “stack,” a bunch of trailers stacked on top of each other, held together by steel frames. In the opening of the story the man who created the OASIS, the virtual reality program where kids go to school and adults go to get away from the real world, has just passed away. In his passing, he has created a challenge for the users in the OASIS, awarding billions of dollars and control of the OASIS upon completion. All you have to do is find three keys. Sounds simple right? Hardly.

wades-fight

Wade’s journey through the OASIS involves dungeons full of enemies he is forced to fight through with gear he picks up along the way. At one point in the story he finds a +1 Flaming Sword, which, for anyone who played Dark Souls knows, there is a flaming sword in the near beginning of the game if you shoot the dragons tail with about 50 arrows (dedication, yes), this part gave me an awesome feeling of nostalgia. The video game feel throughout this book is indescribable. I can’t put into words how great this book is, and if you even remotely like playing RPG’s (role-playing games), you have no option but to read this.

The featured image can be found here, where there is also a large number of pictures from the story. I scrolled through that site for quite some time, and I couldn’t help but use the picture of Acerak, one of the demon’s in the story Wade must fight, playing the video game Joust. Cline also has a new book titled Armada that came out a few months ago, and it is without a doubt the next book I’ll be reading.

508

5 thoughts on “Ready Player One

  1. Hey, thanks for sharing. I’m actually super excited now because this is a book I’ve been meaning to read for years and just keep putting off… I love the concept though, and while I’m not a gamer its cool to see the many easter eggs and little details it leaves for fans! I’m not sure how similar the two books are, but if you are looking for another cool sci-fi novel about VR, coming of age and also badass space fights and more I would recommend you read Ender’s Game.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ender’s Game is so good! I think I read it in one or two sittings because I couldn’t put it down. Card describes that game room so well, it made me want to be able to participate in some of those matches.

      Like

  2. I’ve been meaning to pick up this book for so long. I love RPG’s so much I know I’d love this book. I think their turning it into a movie soon. I want to say I heard that JJ Abrams is directing it but I could be mistaken. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

